Industry Partners

California Grocers Association elects Dennis Darling as board chair

Darling will oversee the organization's legislative, educational and industry-related programs.
Dennis Darling elected board chair of California Grocers Association (CGA). / Photo courtesy: CGA

The California Grocers Association (CGA) elected Dennis Darling, owner of California-based Foods, Etc., as its 2022-2023 board chair at the association’s annual meeting this month.

In the one-year position, Darling will oversee CGA’s legislative, educational and industry-related programs. Darling succeeds Renee Amen, controller of Super A Foods. 

“Dennis has been integral to ushering our community of independent operators into the Association,” said CGA President and CEO Ron Fong, in a statement. “As an independent store owner himself, Dennis has a personal perspective and deep dedication to our industry, making him well-suited to lead our members through the upcoming year.” 

Darling and his wife, Ruth, have owned and operated Foods Etc. in Clearlake and Susanville, California, for 25 years. He is also a member of CGA’s Independent Operators Committee, which supports independent grocers in areas ranging from compliance to labor and employment. 

The following individuals were also elected to the 2022-2023 CGA Board of Directors Executive Committee. They are: First Vice Chair Lynn Melillo of Bristol Farms; Second Vice Chair Steve Dietz of UNFI; Treasurer Michel LeClerc of North State Grocery; Secretary Richard Wardwell, Superior Grocers; and Immediate Past Chair Amen. 

Directors elected to their first full, three-year team include: Brendan McAbee of Bimbo Bakeries USA; Karl Schroeder of Albertsons Companies; Chris Dehoff of Dehoff’s Key Markets; Donovan Ford of Save Mart Supermarkets; Chang So, Hollister Super; Bertha Luna of Stater Bros. Markets; Adam Salgado of Cardenas Markets; Tim Mahoney of Gelson’s Markets; Brian Pohl, Classic Wines of California; and Tiffany Menyhart of the Kraft Heinz Company. 

Directors elected to their second three-year term include: Sergio Gonzalez of Northgate Markets; Bryan Jankans of Mondelez International, Inc.; Joe Mueller of Kellogg Company; Subriana Pierce of Navigator Sales & Marketing; Jeff Schmiege of Unilever; and Greg Sheldon of Anheuser-Busch InBev. 

Elliott Stone of Mollie Stone’s Markets was appointed executive committee-IOC chair while former CGA Chair Hee-Sook Alden was elected an honorary board member. 

CGA is comprised of more than 350 retail companies, which operate more than 6,000 stores in the West.



More from our partners