Industry Partners

FMI Names New Board in Wake of Rebrand

Hy-Vee’s Randy Edeker named chairman

FMI – The Food Industry Association, which rebranded from the Food Marketing Institute earlier this month, named its new 2020 board of directors to reflect its new identity of covering the business of food and related grocery products wherever they are bought, sold or produced. Among the board appointments were Randy Edeker, chairman, president and CEO of Hy-Vee, as chairman. Six new product suppliers were named as directors.

“FMI views the marketplace—in its many manifestations—as the place where the food industry fulfills its mission of feeding and enriching society. We embrace the full breadth of the food industry, particularly as companies become more interconnected and vertically integrated up and down the supply chain,” said FMI President and CEO Leslie Sarasin. “I am especially grateful to our immediate past chairman, Joe Sheridan, along with the entire FMI executive committee for their vital role in influencing our direction to activate and enact our 2019-approved strategic plan. Now, under Randy Edeker’s leadership, we will lead with a renewed focus in this expanded food marketplace.”

The purpose of the FMI board is to promote and carry out the objectives and purposes of FMI; to represent the total and varied membership of FMI; to establish major policies for FMI; to demonstrate a model of an active, participative and sharing membership; to appoint the president; and to provide industry leadership.

New Officers (two-year term)

Chairman: Randy Edeker, Hy-Vee Inc., West Des Moines, Iowa

President and CEO: Leslie Sarasin, FMI, Arlington, Va.

Immediate Past Chairman: Joseph Sheridan, Wakefern Food Corp., Keasbey, N.J.

Vice Chairman, Finance: Brian George, Alex Lee Inc., Hickory, N.C.

Vice Chairman, Communications: Jerry Golub, Price Chopper Supermarkets, Schenectady, N.Y.

Vice Chairman, Industry Relations: Kevin Holt, Delhaize America, Salisbury, N.C.

Vice Chairman, Public Affairs: Laura Karet, Giant Eagle Inc., Pittsburgh, Pa.

Vice Chairman, Food Safety: Susan Morris, Albertsons Cos., Boise, Idaho

Vice Chairman, Member Services: Michael Needler Jr., Fresh Encounter Inc., Findlay, Ohio

Vice Chairman, Product Supplier: Steve Presley, Nestle USA Inc., Arlington, Va.

Vice Chairman, Wholesaler: Steve Spinner, United Natural Foods Inc., Providence, R.I.

Vice Chairman, Independent Operators: Lauri Youngquist, Knowlan's Super Markets Inc., St. Paul, Minn.

Newest Product Supplier Members

Mary Barnard, Mondelez International, East Hanover, N.J.

Steven Oakland, TreeHouse Foods Inc., Oak Brook, Ill.

Michael Potthoff, Anheuser-Busch Cos. LLC, St. Louis

Steven Williams, PepsiCo Inc., Plano, Texas

New Chairman’s Appointees (2-year term)

Tim Figge, Hussmann Corp., Bridgeton, Mo.

Anthony Hucker, Southeastern Grocers LLC, Jacksonville, Fla.

Kenneth McGrath, Save-A-Lot Ltd., Earth City, Mo.

Lori Mitchell-Keller, SAP America Inc., Newtown Square, Pa.

John Ross, IGA Inc., Chicago

Randy Skoda, Topco Associates LLC, Elk Grove Village, Ill.

Tobias Wasmuht, SPAR International, Amsterdam


More from our partners