Industry Partners

FMI Unveils Its 2022 Store Manager Award Winners

11 finalists 'epitomize food retail resilience,' association President and CEO Leslie Sarasin said
FMI–The Food Industry Association
Photograph courtesy of FMI–The Food Industry Association

FMI–The Food Industry Association has announced the five store managers voted as winners from a field of 11 finalists for its 2022 Store Manager Awards. The association also recognized the People’s Pick category winner—Rob Vassar of Meijer—who received more than 3,000 votes out of over 7,100 ballots cast in the online contest.

Each manager was credited for overcoming novel challenges to achieve record financial growth, customer satisfaction and employee performance, as well as developing innovative in-store programs and making significant investments in their communities.

“The 2022 Store Manager Award winners epitomize food retail resilience. Despite tumultuous times, these phenomenal few succeeded in outperforming sales targets and maintaining top-tier customer service,” FMI President and CEO Leslie Sarasin said in a statement. “They consistently put the well-being of their employees first by carefully nurturing team talent and elevating colleagues to positions that fit their unique skillsets. Moreover, the benevolence of the 2022 Store Manager Award winners could be felt beyond the parameters of their stores through their collaboration with local stakeholders to fulfill community needs.

 “This year’s awardees demonstrated inspiring leadership, and FMI is proud to recognize their contributions to industry excellence.”

 The 2022 Store Manager Award Winners are: 

  • Category A (1-49 stores): Stephanie Wright, store manager, Monadnock Food Co-op, Keene, N.H.
  • Category B (50-199 stores): Raymond Stockard, store manager, K-VA-T Food Stores Inc., dba. Food City, Kingsport, Tenn.
  •  Category C (200-plus stores): Rob Vassar, store director, Meijer Inc., Stevensville, Mich.
  •  Category D (international): Dawn Haig, store manager, Save-On-Foods, Chilliwack, B.C., Canada

 Each of the 2022 Store Manager Award winners will receive a prize of $1,000, along with a crystal commemorative award. The People’s Pick award winner will receive a trophy along with a $500 award. The Store Manager Awards are sponsored by The Coca-Cola Co.


More from our partners