NGA Honors Newport Avenue Market’s Rudy Dory

Oregon grocer receives Great American advocacy award
NGA show Rudy Dory
Photograph courtesy of NGA

Rudy Dory, the visionary patriarch of the two-store, Bend, Ore.-based Newport Avenue Market, was honored at the 2019 NGA Show with the Clarence G. Adamy Great American Award for his participation in public affairs and advocacy.

Established in 1982, the Adamy Great American Award is NGA’s most distinguished government relations award, presented to an individual or company whose leadership in the food industry best exemplifies active and effective participation in government relations as a citizen and industry representative. The award’s namesake, Clarence Adamy, was a past president of the National Association of Food Chains and was very active in public and government affairs. 

“Rudy is a tireless advocate of the independent supermarket industry by supporting a public policy agenda that benefits Main Street grocers throughout the country,” said Greg Ferrara, NGA’s EVP of advocacy, public relations and member services. “NGA commends Rudy on his achievements and looks forward to working together in the future as we continue come up with innovative ways to advance the interests of our industry.”

Since its opening in 1976, Dory’s Newport Avenue Market has been a primary choice for foodies in central Oregon. The 100% employee-owned grocer offers shoppers both mainstream and hard-to-find food items as well as kitchenware and unique gifts. An 18-time “Best Grocery Store” winner in Central Oregon by The Source Weekly’s annual community poll, Dory’s two stores support local producers and specializes in high-quality, in-demand food and beverage items, including 500 varieties of craft beer.

In other NGA Show news, the association announced the creation of the Peter J. Larkin Award for Community Service in honor of Larkin’s retirement at the end of 2019. The award will be presented annually to an independent retailer or wholesaler who demonstrates exceptional dedication and commitment to the communities he or she serves.

“Peter’s passion for our industry and the independent grocer is unwavering, but it’s the independent grocer’s commitment and service to their community that he is most proud of,” said Cheryl Sommer, chairwoman of NGA’s board and owner of Santa Fe, N.M.-based Kaune’s Neighborhood Market.

Larkin’s retirement from NGA at this end of this year will cap a 40-year career in the grocery industry. During his tenure at NGA, which began in 2010, the association experienced retail and wholesale membership growth as well as stronger member engagement in share groups, committees and attendance at The NGA show. Additionally, NGA’s government relations and advocacy efforts have expanded and produced numerous wins for independent supermarkets under Larkin’s leadership.

Also at the NGA Show, the association presented its new board of directors, which includes:

Appointed Board of Directors Officers and Executive Committee

Chairwoman: Cheryl Sommer, Kaune’s Neighborhood Market

Immediate Past Chairman: Rich Niemann Jr., Niemann Foods Inc.

Vice-Chair: Mike Stigers, UNFI/Supervalu

Secretary: Ted Balistreri, Sendik’s Food Markets

Treasurer: David Smith, Associated Wholesale Grocers Inc.

President & CEO: Peter Larkin, National Grocers Association

At-Large: Kim Eskew, Harps Food Stores Inc.

At-Large: Roger Lowe Jr., Lowe’s Market

At-Large: Richard Morgan Jr., North State Grocery Inc.

At-Large: Jeff Reagan, Wakefern Food Corp.

At-Large: Zulema Wiscovitch, Associated Supermarket Group

Incoming Board Members

John Akins, Akins Market

Randy Arceneaux, Affiliated Foods Inc.

Joe Cavaliere, C&S Wholesale Grocers

Dave Conroy, First Data

Paula Janssen, Janssen’s Fine Foods

Pete Najjar, Cardiff Seaside Market

Michael Needler Jr., Fresh Encounter Inc.

Tony Patrignelli, Unilever

Gary Redner, Redner’s Markets

Returning Board Members

Jay Ard, The Coca-Cola Co.

Terrie Baker, Baker's IGA

Neal Berube, Associated Food Stores Inc.

Jennifer Bosma, Harvest Market

Kimberly Brackett, Brackett's Market IGA

Trent Brookshire, Brookshire Grocery Co.

David Bullard, Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing Co.

John Derderian, Allegiance Retail Services LLC

Rudy Dory, Newport Avenue Market

Jesse Garcia, Post Consumer Brands

Jan Gee, Washington Food Industry Association

Ron Graff Jr., Columbiana Foods Inc.

Neil Greenstein, Brookdale/Newark ShopRite

Winston Griffin, Laurel Grocery Co.

Steve Heggelke, Bozzuto’s Inc.

Tim Henderson, Henderson’s IGA

Michelle Hurd, Iowa Grocery Industry Association

Reed Kessler, Kessler’s Inc

Kristi Magnuson-Nelson, Hugo’s Family Marketplace

Bob McTeir, Merchants Distributors Inc.

Brian Moyer, Freshop

David Ochs, KeHE Distributors

Eligio Pena, Compare Foods

Larry Pierce, SpartanNash Co.

Kevin Proctor, Save-A-Lot

Art Rosenberg, PepsiCo Inc.

Daniel Shanahan, Buehler’s Fresh Foods

Ray Sprinkle, URM Stores Inc

Jeff Strack, Indiana Grocery Corp.

Michael Violette, Associated Grocers of New England

Joe Wolf, Alliance Retail Group




More from our partners